About the College Television Awards



The College Television Awards is a national competition recognizing excellence in college student-produced video, digital and film work. Each year, we receive entries from hundreds of colleges and universities nationwide. Winners are honored with a personalized trophy at the gala in Los Angeles, receive cash awards, industry recognition and the opportunity to network with top television executives.

This year's College Television Awards will be held on Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at the Television Academy's Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre. The ceremony will be followed by a sit-down dinner on the Hall of Fame Plaza. Tickets are $200 and all proceeds benefit the Television Academy Foundation. If you would like to attend, please contact Jessica Davis (davis@televisionacademy.com).

Watch our Live Webcast of the College Television Awards at TelevisionAcademy.com/CTA - starting at 7:00pm PT on Wednesday, April 23.

Entries are judged online by members of the Television Academy who are professionals working in each respective discipline. Viewing is restricted to competition judges and staff only. Finalists' work in each category proceeds to Blue Ribbon Panels for selection of winners in mid-February.

As with the Primetime Emmy Awards, entries are awarded based on excellence in overall production.

Video: CTA 2013

The College Television Awards Gala honoring the 2013 winners took place on April 25, 2013 in Downtown Los Angeles, California.

Get More: www.mtvu.com

CTA Puts New Student Talent on the Pros' Radars

Greg Yaitanes, Primetime Emmy® winning director of House:
"It was a thrill to present at the College Television Awards and witness the talent of the next generation of television professionals. I spent the afternoon with Julian Higgins, winner of the Best Directing award and offered him the opportunity to shadow me during the opening episode of season 8 of House.

Julian will get to see the script evolve, take part in the prep, watch through production and go through post all the way to to final mix. He will see firsthand what goes into making television. I am grateful the College Television Awards put a talent like Julian on my radar. House being the most popular show world wide allows us to take chances on deserving new voices.

It should be noted that winning an award only a step and that hard work and dedication must follow. Julian has both the talent and the work ethic we seek here at House."

Jorge Gutierrez, Emmy winning creator of El Tigre: The Adventures of Manny Rivera
Jen Grace recently shot for the PBS/Jim Henson Company production of Wilson and Ditch.
Gregg Helvey (pictured with Benito Martinez), whose Bricker Humanitarian Award winning drama, Kavi, was nominated for an Oscar.
Yule Caise, whose work on a series of Heroes webisodes won a Primetime Emmy for interactive fiction for NBC.com. 


Subject to proper clearances, winning pieces will be featured on mtvU.com's College Filmmakers section.

Please direct all CTA inquiries to ctasupport@emmys.org

View the official 34th CTA (2013) Winners List

33rd CTA Photos