32nd College Television Awards on Saturday, April 9, 2011, honoring the nation’s best student-produced work in video, digital and film production was hosted by Mary Lynn Rajskub of 24 -- with awards presented by some of television’s hottest stars.

More than 30 students from schools across United States, including University of California, Berkeley; Brigham Young University; University of Florida; Northwestern University; Arizona State University; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale and several others. See student winners list below.

The American Film Institute and Florida State University each received four awards, followed by the University of Southern California and Savannah College of Art and Design, which won two awards each.

“The College Television Awards is the country’s premier exposure opportunity for television’s next generation of leaders,” said Norma Provencio Pichardo, Executive Director of the Television Academy Foundation. “Past winners have gone on to successful careers in television, and have even won Primetime Emmy Awards. This competition opens many doors for talented student producers.”

Student awards were presented by stars from some of the biggest hits on television, including Darren Criss (Glee), Shenae Grimes and Trevor Donovan (90210), David Henrie (Wizards of Waverly Place), KaDee Strickland (Private Practice), Elijah Wood (Wilfred, Lord of the Rings trilogy) and many more.

This year, more than 500 students from 154 schools across the nation entered the 32nd College Television Awards, which honors work in 11 categories.

First place winners were awarded $2,000, second place winners took home $1,000 and third place winners received $500. In addition to the cash award, winners were invited to a private mentoring brunch and panel discussion with industry professionals. A selection of winning pieces will also be featured on mtvU’s Best Film On Campus. This year's first place winners in each category are:

Animation “Bridge,” Ting Chian Tey, Academy of Art University

Children’s “The Planeteer,” Jaye Sarah Davidson, Stephen Griffin, Florida State University

Comedy “In Captivity,” Giles Andrew, Corbin David Frost, University of Southern California

Commercial “Coppertone - Boxer,” Ian Kammer, Art Center College of Design

Documentary “Feast & Sacrifice,” Clare Major, University of California, Berkeley

Drama “Thief,” West Lee McDowell, American Film Institute

Magazine “alt.news 26:46 Episode 1203,” Ian Damian, Kelly E. Reed, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale

Music, Best Composition “DreamGiver,” R. Lance Montgomery II, Brigham Young University

Music, Best Use “Underground,” Allison Leger, Florida State University

Narrative Series “NSTV (Northwestern Sketch Television),” Daniel Scott Siegel, Pat Bishop, Northwestern University

Newscast “Phoenix14News,” Kirsten Bennett, Elon University

Among several special honors of the night, the first-ever Focus on Diversity and Gender Equality in Children’s Media award went to Nicholas William Allred for his animated piece entitled The Girl and the Fox. Presented by Academy Award-winner Geena Davis on behalf of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, the $5,000 prize was rewarded to Allred for best showcasing of gender equality.

The $4,000 Seymour Bricker Family Humanitarian Award was presented to Allison Leger for her work on Underground, a fictional musical short that follows the journey of Civil War Era spiritual slaves fighting insurmountable odds to find the Underground Railroad. The film also won first place in the competition’s Best Use of Music category.

The second Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship went to Stanford University’s Anthony Dale Weeks for his film Imaginary Circumstances. The $10,000 scholarship was presented by producer-philanthropist and disability rights activist Loreen Arbus.

This year’s Directing Award went to Julian Higgins of the American Film Institute for his work on Thief, a film set in post-American invasion Iraq about an encounter between an isolated goatherd and armed stranger who come to realize they had met 40 years prior.

Primetime Emmy Award-winner Jane Lynch (Glee) presented the night’s first Visionary Award — which recognizes the use of television to affect social change—to Glee creators Ryan Murphy, Ian Brennan and Brad Falchuk, while Terrence Howard (Law & Order: Los Angeles) presented the other Visionary Award to the Entertainment Industry Foundation, represented by President and CEO Lisa Paulsen.